History of the Camaro

CamaroThe iconic Chevrolet Camaro was born on September 29th of 1966 as General Motors unveiled its counter to popular Ford Mustang. Featuring a long hood and short deck, the idea of the four-seater Camaro was to give the driver the experience of sports car racing in their commute. Since the Camaro’s introduction, it has gone through five generations of modifications and refinement to become the engineering marvel that is available today.

First Generation

The first generation of Camaro appeared in 1966 and production ran through to 1969. Exploding into the popular muscle car era with a number of transmission and engines options, as well as the increasingly prominent availability of hardtop and convertible body types, the Camaro quickly became one of the most desirable cars in the automotive industry.

Second Generation

1970 saw the next generation of Camaro displaying some of the most powerful engines available within the pony car style chassis. From 1970 to 1981, the famous car saw many changes in regards to the external aesthetics, as well as engine specifications. A shortage of oil created the need for federal regulations concerning automotive engine performance, as such, engineers had to focus more on fuel economy and reduce horsepower and engine compression.

Third Generation

In production from 1982 to 1992, the third generation of Camaro’s did not receive the same praise and acclaim as the previous two. This was mainly a result of a completely overhauled design, making the Camaro smaller and lighter.

Fourth Generation

Camaro’s fourth generation was produced from 1993 to 2002 whilst the sports car market was struggling and sales were in decline. General Motors anticipated a return in the popularity of sports cars and invested their time and money in being prepared for the upcoming demand.

Fifth Generation

The fifth generation came into production in 2010 and lasted until 2015. This represented Camaro’s triumphant return to the automotive industry, and the Camaro received awards at both the 2010 and 2015 World Car of the Year Awards.